Trace the store back to who actually owns it — before you decide where your money goes.
Category
Ownership
Recognition
496 results
- 5.0241 Pizza241 Pizza — Canadian
- 0.57-Eleven7-Eleven, Inc. — Japanese; wholly owned by Seven & i Holdings Co. (Tokyo) since taking full ownership in 2005. Alimentation Couche-Tard's 2024-2025 takeover bid for Seven & i was withdrawn in July 2025, so ownership remains unchanged.
- 0.0Abercrombie & FitchAbercrombie & Fitch Co. — United States
- 4.0Addition ElleReitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 0.0adidasadidas AG — German, publicly traded (Frankfurt: ADS), widely-held with no controlling shareholder (Dassler family exited by 1990)
- 4.5AdonisMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0AerieAmerican Eagle Outfitters, Inc. — United States (widely held; Schottenstein family holds a significant but non-controlling stake, no super-voting shares)
- 0.0AesopAesop — Australian-founded (Melbourne, 1987); owned by Natura & Co (Brazil, 2012-23), acquired by L'Oreal (France) in 2023
- 4.0AldoALDO Group Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (Bensadoun family)
- 0.0AllSaintsLion Capital LLP — United Kingdom
- 4.5Altea ActiveAltea Active Inc. — Canadian-owned (founder-led private company; co-founders David Wu and Michael Nolan)
- 0.0American EagleAmerican Eagle Outfitters, Inc. — United States (widely held; Schottenstein family holds a significant but non-controlling stake, no super-voting shares)
- 5.0Ann-Louise JewellersAnn-Louise Jewellers — Canadian — self-described Canadian-owned company, established 1983, with 16 stores in BC and Alberta (owner names not publicly disclosed)
- 0.0AnthropologieURBN Inc. — United States
- 2.0Anytime FitnessPurpose Brands — American (formed April 2024 by the merger of Self Esteem Brands and Orangetheory Fitness)
- 1.0Applebee'sDine Brands Global, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NYSE: DIN), no majority owner — widely held by institutional investors
- 1.0Arby'sArby's Restaurant Group, Inc. — US (owned by Inspire Brands, controlled by Roark Capital private equity)
- 1.5Arc'teryxAmer Sports, Inc. — Finnish-domiciled, Chinese-plurality-controlled (ANTA Sports 41.9% voting) since a 2019 take-private consortium; re-listed on NYSE in 2024. Lululemon founder Chip Wilson holds ~18% via Anamered Investments.
- 4.0ArdeneArdene Holdings Inc. — Canada (family-owned, private, Quebec-based)
- 2.5AritziaAritzia Inc. — Canadian, founder-controlled (Brian Hill)
- 3.5ArticleArticle.com Inc. — Founder-led, Vancouver-based; some outside investment, no confirmed foreign/majority stake
- 2.0Ashley FurnitureAshley Furniture Industries, Inc. — US, wholly owned by the Wanek family, Arcadia, Wisconsin — licenses the Ashley HomeStore banner to independent Canadian operators rather than running Canadian stores directly
- 0.0AthletaGap Inc. — United States
- 1.5Athlete's FootArklyz Group (The Athlete's Foot) — Swiss; global trademark and franchise rights held by Arklyz Group (Stans, Switzerland) since 2021, though the brand originated in the U.S. (Pittsburgh, 1971)
- 5.0Atlantic SuperstoreLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 5.0ATTITUDEATTITUDE Living Inc. — Montreal-founded (2005) and still 100% owned by founders Jean-Francois Bernier and Benoit Lord -- deliberately avoided outside investors
- 1.0Auntie Anne'sFocus Brands (Roark Capital) — US, owned by Roark Capital (Atlanta PE firm); Canadian Auntie Anne's locations are also operated by a US-based multi-unit franchisee group, no Canadian ownership angle at any level
- 5.0Au Vieux DuluthAu Vieux Duluth — Canadian (Québec) — Restaurants Au Vieux Duluth Inc., private, led by Andreas Kragaris; genuinely independent from MTY's separate 'Au Vieux Duluth Express' quick-service sub-brand licensing deal
- 4.5Au Vieux Duluth ExpressMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0AvedaAveda Corporation — US-founded (Minneapolis, 1978), wholly owned subsidiary of The Estee Lauder Companies (US) since 1997
- 4.5A&WA&W Food Services of Canada Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0A|X Armani ExchangeGiorgio Armani S.p.A. — Italy
- 0.0Banana RepublicGap Inc. — United States
- 4.5barBURRITOMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Basil BoxBasil Box — Canadian — founder-led (Peter Chiu), private
- 1.0Baskin RobbinsInspire Brands (Roark Capital) — American
- 0.0Bass Pro ShopsBass Pro Group, LLC — American; privately held and wholly owned by founder Johnny Morris
- 0.0Bath & Body WorksBath & Body Works, Inc. — Widely-held US public company (NYSE: BBWI), Columbus, Ohio -- formerly L Brands
- 4.5Baton RougeMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Below the BeltBelow the Belt — Canada (family-owned, private, Edmonton-based)
- 5.0Ben Moss JewellersCharm Diamond Centres — Canadian — privately owned and operated by the Calder family (founded by Richard Calder, Dartmouth NS, 1972); also owns the Ben Moss Jewellers and Crescent Gold & Diamonds banners
- 1.0Bento SushiBento Sushi — Japanese — ultimately owned by Zensho Holdings via Wonderfield Group (formerly Snowfox Group)
- 5.0Big Al'sBig Al's (Aquarium Services Ltd.) — Canadian — self-owned Woodbridge, ON franchisor (President Saul Tally); it owns the Big Al's brand itself, with locally owned franchised stores
- 5.0Big Smoke BurgerBig Smoke Burger Inc. (Mustafa Yusuf) — Privately held, founder-led (restaurateur Mustafa Yusuf), Toronto; has expanded internationally (US, Middle East) but remains Canadian-controlled
- 4.0Bijoux Caroline NéronBijoux Caroline Neron — Canadian — founder-owned by Quebec actor/singer/entrepreneur Caroline Néron. The original Bijoux Caroline Néron Inc. went through CCAA and closed in 2019; she continues to design and sell jewellery under her own name.
- 4.0Bikini VillageLa Vie en Rose Inc. — Canada (privately held by CEO François Roberge since 1996)
- 2.0BirksGroupe Birks Corporation — Canadian-incorporated, Montreal HQ — but voting control held offshore: Montel S.à r.l. (Luxembourg; Rossi di Montelera family interests) holds all 7.7M Class B multiple-voting shares (10 votes each), ≈88% of votes. Birks' own FAQ says most of its shares are owned by international shareholders.
- 4.0Blackwell Supply Co.Boathouse — Canadian, since 1973 (St. Catharines, ON)
- 5.0Blenz CoffeeBlenz The Canadian Coffee Company Ltd. — Canada (privately held, founded by George Moen, Sarah Moen, Geoffrey Hair, and Brian Noble)
- 4.0BluenotesYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 5.0Blue RubyBlue Ruby Jewellery — Canadian — independent Vancouver-area jewellery retailer since 1998 (owner names not publicly disclosed)
- 5.0BMRBMR Group (Sollio Cooperative Group) — Canadian agricultural/retail cooperative (Sollio Cooperative Group, formerly La Coop federee), founded 1922, 108,000+ members
- 4.0BoathouseBoathouse — Canadian, since 1973 (St. Catharines, ON)
- 5.0Booster JuiceBooster Juice (founder-led) — Canadian
- 4.5Bosley's by Pet ValuPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 0.0BOSS Hugo BossHUGO BOSS AG — Germany
- 5.0Boston PizzaEh+Boston Pizza International Inc. + Boston Pizza Royalties Income Fund — Canadian
- 4.5BouclairBouclair Inc. — Canadian, privately held; President/CEO Peter Goldberg led a 2003 management buyout and remains the controlling shareholder via Alston Investments Inc.
- 5.0Bridgehead CoffeePilot Coffee Roasters — Canadian
- 5.0Browns ShoesBrowns Shoes Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (Brownstein family) since 1940
- 5.0Browns Social HouseBrowns Restaurant Group — Privately held, founded by Scott Morison, Vancouver (Dunbar); every location independently owned/operated by local franchisees
- 4.5BrunetMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Bulk BarnBulk Barn Foods Limited — Canadian, family-owned (Ofield family) since founding
- 0.0BurberryBurberry Group plc — United Kingdom
- 5.0Burger BaronBurger Baron — Canadian — decentralized, no single owner; dozens of independent Alberta/BC operators, historically Lebanese-Canadian immigrant families
- 3.0Burger KingRestaurant Brands International Inc. — Canadian HQ, foreign-controlled
- 5.0Buy-Low FoodsPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 5.0Cactus Club CafeCactus Club Cafe — Canadian (BC) — 100% owned by the Fuller family (also owns Earls, Joey Restaurant Group) since 2022
- 4.5Café DépôtMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Calgary Co-opCalgary Co-operative Association Limited — Canadian, member-owned cooperative (independent -- left the Federated Co-operatives Limited system in 2019)
- 1.5CanacSycamore Partners (operating as RONA inc.) — American (PE firm)
- 4.0Canada Weather GearIBS Inc. (Isaac Bennet Sales Agencies) — Canada (private, Toronto-based)
- 5.0Canadian TireEh+Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited — Canadian
- 1.0Carl's Jr.CKE Restaurants Holdings, Inc. — US (owned by Roark Capital private equity since 2013)
- 0.0Carter's OshKoshCarter's, Inc. — United States (widely held public company, no controlling family or shareholder)
- 1.0CasperDurational Capital Management, LP — US private equity owner (New York); Casper delisted from NYSE Jan 2022
- 5.0Castle Building CentresCastle Building Centres Group Ltd. — Canadian, cooperatively-owned buying group of independent lumber/building-material dealers
- 0.0Champs SportsDICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. — United States
- 0.0ChanelChanel Limited — France (wholly owned by the Wertheimer family; privately held)
- 5.0Chapman's Ice CreamEh+Chapman family — Canadian
- 5.0Charm Diamond CentresCharm Diamond Centres — Canadian — privately owned and operated by the Calder family (founded by Richard Calder, Dartmouth NS, 1972); also owns the Ben Moss Jewellers and Crescent Gold & Diamonds banners
- 5.0Chez AshtonChez Ashton — Canadian (Québec) — owned by Émily Adam & Jean-Christophe Lirette since 2022
- 5.0Chicken DelightChicken Delight — Canadian (Winnipeg) — owned by Tushar Sukhadiya & Dipak Koladiya since 2023
- 1.5Chick-fil-AChick-fil-A, Inc. — US (Cathy family, private, no outside shareholders)
- 4.5ChicoPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 0.0ChipotleChipotle Mexican Grill, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NYSE: CMG), no majority owner
- 5.0ChlorophylleChlorophylle — Canadian, Quebec-founded outdoor apparel brand; owned by the Côté-Reco family business since May 2019
- 5.0Choices MarketsPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 5.0Chop Steakhouse & BarMoxie's Grill & Bar — Canadian (Vancouver) — owned by Northland Properties Corporation (Gaglardi family), which also owns the Canadian Denny's master franchise
- 5.0Chuck'sObsidian Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5Circle KAlimentation Couche-Tard Inc. — Canadian, founded by Alain Bouchard; the four founders' special supervoting shares expired in December 2021 (sunset clause), converting the company to a single, widely-held share class. The founders remain the largest single block at roughly 23% of equity.
- 0.0Claire'sAmes Watson (Claire's) — United States — privately held holding company (Columbia, Maryland); acquired Claire's North American business incl. Canadian stores out of Chapter 11 / CCAA in 2025
- 4.0CleoPutman Investments — Canadian (Doug Putman, Ancaster, ON; privately held)
- 5.0Club16 Trevor Linden FitnessClub16 Trevor Linden Fitness (Linden & Lawson) — Canadian-owned (co-owners Trevor Linden and Chuck Lawson)
- 0.0Club MonacoRegent, L.P. — United States (private equity firm)
- 1.0Club PilatesXponential Fitness, Inc. — American (NYSE: XPOF, Irvine, California)
- 0.0CoachTapestry, Inc. — United States
- 5.0Coffee TimeChairman's Brand Corporation — Canada (private, Ontario-based; also owns Robin's Donuts and 241 Pizza)
- 0.0Cole HaanApax Partners LLP — United Kingdom
- 5.0CoraCora Franchise Group Inc. — Canadian (Québec) — Coramark Inc., founder Cora Tsouflidou's family, private
- 0.0CostcoCostco Wholesale Corporation — American
- 5.0Country GrocerCountry Grocer — Canadian, family-owned -- operates under parent Island Independent Buying Group Ltd. (Large/Cavin founding families)
- 4.5Country StyleMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Cows CreameryCows Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Crescent Gold & DiamondsCharm Diamond Centres — Canadian — privately owned and operated by the Calder family (founded by Richard Calder, Dartmouth NS, 1972); also owns the Ben Moss Jewellers and Crescent Gold & Diamonds banners
- 2.0Crunch FitnessCrunch Holdings, LLC — American (private-equity-backed, New York)
- 1.0Dairy QueenInternational Dairy Queen, Inc. (Berkshire Hathaway) — American
- 1.5Dave's Hot ChickenDave's Hot Chicken, Inc. — US, privately held (LA-based); Canadian franchise rights held by Obelysk Foods Ltd., led by Canadian entrepreneur John Bitove
- 2.5DAVIDsTEADAVIDsTEA Inc. — Canadian, publicly traded (TSXV: DTEA); the Segal family controls ~45% (the single largest block, via Rainy Day Investments Ltd.) and holds the Chair and CEO roles
- 0.0DecathlonDecathlon SE — French, family-owned (Association Familiale Mulliez 51%, Famille Leclercq 49%)
- 2.0DeciemDeciem Beauty Group Inc. — Toronto-founded (2013), fully acquired by The Estee Lauder Companies (US) as of May 2024 (ELC first invested 2017, majority 2021)
- 5.0Denny'sMoxie's Grill & Bar — Canadian (Vancouver) — owned by Northland Properties Corporation (Gaglardi family), which also owns the Canadian Denny's master franchise
- 0.0DesigualDesigual S.A. — Spain (majority owned by founder Thomas Meyer, privately held)
- 0.0DiptyqueDiptyque Paris — French heritage fragrance house (founded Paris, 1961), owned by Manzanita Capital (London-based private equity) since 2005
- 4.5Dixie Lee Fried ChickenMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5DollaramaDollarama Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0Dollar TreeDollar Tree, Inc. — United States (widely held public company, no controlling family)
- 5.0DominionLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 2.0Domino's PizzaDomino's Pizza, Inc. — American
- 4.5Dormez-vousSleep Country Canada Holdings Inc. — Canadian, publicly traded (TSX: ZZZ), widely held, no known foreign controlling shareholder
- 0.0DSW Designer Shoe WarehouseDesigner Brands Inc. — American, publicly traded (NYSE: DBI); Schottenstein-affiliated entities hold ~30% of shares but 66% of combined voting power via dual-class (8-vote) Class B shares
- 2.0DUERDUER Performance — Mixed Canada/Pakistan founder ownership -- Gary Lenett (Vancouver) and Abid Hafeez (Pakistan) each hold approximately half the company
- 5.0Dufresne Furniture & AppliancesThe Dufresne Group — Family-owned (Dufresne family), Winnipeg
- 5.0Duke's Refresher & BarSIR Corp. (Service Inspired Restaurants) — Canadian
- 3.5DynamiteGroupe Dynamite Inc. — Canadian, Andrew Lutfy majority control
- 5.0EarlsEarls Restaurants Ltd. (Fuller family) — Privately held, family-owned (Fuller family — Bus and Stan Fuller), Vancouver; not a franchise
- 5.0East Side Mario'sRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 0.0ECCOECCO Sko A/S — Denmark
- 0.0Ecko Unltd.Iconix Brand Group — United States (Iconix Brand Group, brand-licensing holding company; acquired full ownership of Ecko Unltd. in 2013)
- 4.0ÉconofitnessGoodLife Fitness Centres Inc. — Canadian-owned (The GoodLife Group; founder David Patchell-Evans remains owner and chairman; Apollo funds took an undisclosed minority stake, announced Feb 2026)
- 5.0Edo JapanEdo Japan — Canadian (Calgary) — owned by Tom Donaldson, purchased outright 2006
- 4.5EndySleep Country Canada Holdings Inc. — Canadian, publicly traded (TSX: ZZZ), widely held, no known foreign controlling shareholder
- 5.0Énergie CardioCardio Plein Air (Énergie Cardio) — Canadian-owned (Quebec company Cardio Plein Air, which took over and relaunched the Énergie Cardio banner in 2024)
- 4.5EQ3Palliser Furniture Ltd. — Wholly Canadian, family-owned (DeFehr/Tielmann families)
- 0.0EquinoxEquinox Holdings, Inc. — American (New York; majority-owned by Related Companies principals and Harvey Spevak)
- 5.0Escents AromatherapyEscents Aromatherapy — Vancouver-founded (1992) and still privately owned by founder Jacqui MacNeill
- 3.5EssoImperial Oil Limited — American majority ownership -- ExxonMobil holds approximately 69.6% of outstanding shares, with the remainder in a diffuse Canadian/international public float
- 0.0Ever NewEver New Australia Pty Ltd — Australia
- 0.0ExpressPhoenix Retail (WHP Global / Simon / Brookfield / Centennial JV) — United States (Phoenix Retail joint venture: WHP Global, Simon Property Group, Brookfield Properties, Centennial Real Estate -- acquired Express out of 2024 Chapter 11 bankruptcy)
- 4.5Extreme PitaMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 1.0F45 TrainingF45 Training Holdings Inc. — American-headquartered (Austin, Texas); Australian-founded; private since NYSE delisting
- 5.0FamiliprixNo single parent - 100% owned by its member pharmacists — Canadian
- 0.0Famous FootwearCaleres, Inc. — American, publicly traded (NYSE: CAL), widely-held with no controlling shareholder
- 5.0Farm BoyEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 1.5Fas GasParkland Corporation — Canadian HQ (Calgary) retained per deal terms, but wholly owned by U.S. parent Sunoco LP since the acquisition completed October 31, 2025
- 1.0FatburgerFBG Bid Co. — Lender-backed ownership group (former FAT Brands noteholders/bondholders, US) that acquired Fatburger and 12 other concepts via a $595M credit-bid sale completed June 2026, closing out FAT Brands' Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Wholly foreign, no Canadian ownership angle.
- 5.0Federated Co-operatives / Co-opEh+Member-owned cooperative — Canadian
- 0.0FerragamoSalvatore Ferragamo S.p.A. — Italian, publicly traded (Milan: SFER) but majority-controlled by the Ferragamo family (~65%) via Ferragamo Finanziaria S.p.A.
- 3.0FieldsThe North West Company Inc. — Canada (TSX-listed, no controlling shareholder; a variable-voting-share structure preserves Canadian control per the Canada Transportation Act, adopted due to its airline subsidiary)
- 3.0Firehouse SubsRestaurant Brands International Inc. — Canadian HQ, foreign-controlled
- 4.0Fit4LessGoodLife Fitness Centres Inc. — Canadian-owned (The GoodLife Group; founder David Patchell-Evans remains owner and chairman; Apollo funds took an undisclosed minority stake, announced Feb 2026)
- 3.5Fitness WorldFitness World Canada (Chris Smith & Mark Mastrov) — Mixed Canadian/American ownership: CEO Chris Smith (BC) and American Mark Mastrov are 'far and away the majority owners'; Bank of Montreal holds a minority stake. Split between Smith and Mastrov not disclosed.
- 1.0Five GuysFive Guys Enterprises, LLC — US — Murrell family (~75%), with a minority stake held by outside investors (previously BDT Capital Partners, currently reported as Miller Investment Management ~20%)
- 4.5Food BasicsMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0FoodlandEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 0.0Foot LockerDICK'S Sporting Goods, Inc. — United States
- 5.0FortinosLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0FossilFossil Group, Inc. — United States — publicly traded, widely held (Richardson, Texas)
- 0.0French ConnectionMIP Holdings Ltd — United Kingdom (MIP Holdings Ltd, controlled by Apinder Singh Ghura, Amarjit Singh Grewal, and KJR Brothers Limited; acquired French Connection from public markets in 2021)
- 5.0FreshCoEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 4.5FreshiiFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Freshslice PizzaFreshslice Pizza — Canadian, founded and privately owned by Ray Russell
- 5.0Fresh St. MarketH.Y. Louie Co. Limited (Louie family) — Canadian
- 4.5Fruits & PassionFruits & Passion — Quebec-founded (1992, Menard/Hurteau family); passed through SC Johnson (US, 2008) and LG Household & Health Care/TheFaceShop (South Korea, 2013) and Avon Canada, returned to Canadian private ownership under Fiberlinks (Montreal, Dres family) in September 2024
- 5.0Gabriel's PizzaGabriel Pizza Franchise Corporation (Hanna family) — Canadian
- 3.5GarageGroupe Dynamite Inc. — Canadian, Andrew Lutfy majority control
- 0.0GeoxGeox S.p.A. — Italy
- 5.0Giant TigerEh+Giant Tiger Stores Limited — Canadian
- 5.0Global Pet FoodsGlobal Pet Foods Ltd. — Canadian — privately owned in equal thirds by three Canadian executives (via Global Bancorp)
- 5.0Godfather's PizzaGodfathers Pizza (Canadian family business -- no relation to U.S. Godfather's Pizza, Inc.) — Canadian, family-owned since founding; now run by the founder's grandchildren. Explicitly markets itself as 'proudly Canadian-owned and operated' with no stated affiliation to the identically-named U.S. chain.
- 5.0Golf TownFairfax Financial Holdings — Canadian
- 1.5Gong ChaGong Cha — American private-equity controlled: majority-owned by TA Associates (Boston) since 2019, with Bain Capital (also US) in the process of acquiring a majority stake as of mid-2026 (deal not yet closed). Global HQ nominally in London, brand originated in Taiwan (2006).
- 4.0GoodLife FitnessGoodLife Fitness Centres Inc. — Canadian-owned (The GoodLife Group; founder David Patchell-Evans remains owner and chairman; Apollo funds took an undisclosed minority stake, announced Feb 2026)
- 5.0GrecoTrucorp Investments Incorporated (Grinner's Food Systems) — Canadian; Greco Pizza is franchised by Grinner's Food Systems Ltd. (Truro, NS), which is owned by Trucorp Investments Incorporated (Dieppe, NB; chairman William Hay)
- 0.0G-Star RAWG-Star International B.V. — Netherlands
- 3.0GuardianMcKesson Canada (McKesson Corporation) — American
- 0.0GucciKering SA — France (Pinault family, via Artemis S.A. holding company, controls majority voting; publicly traded)
- 0.0GUESSGUESS?, Inc. — United States
- 4.0GYMVMTGoodLife Fitness Centres Inc. — Canadian-owned (The GoodLife Group; founder David Patchell-Evans remains owner and chairman; Apollo funds took an undisclosed minority stake, announced Feb 2026)
- 5.0Harry RosenHarry Rosen Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (Rosen family, 3rd generation)
- 5.0Harvey'sRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 5.0Hero Certified BurgersHero Certified Burgers Inc. — Canadian — founder-led (John Lettieri), private, family-owned
- 4.0Herschel Supply Co.Herschel Supply Co. — Canadian, founder-owned (Cormack brothers)
- 5.0Highland FarmsHighland Farms Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (Coppa family) since founding
- 5.0Hillberg & BerkEh+Hillberg & Berk — Canadian — founder-led and women-owned (Rachel Mielke, Regina SK); early outside investor W. Brett Wilson (Dragons' Den, 2008) is also Canadian. No public cap table, hence ESTIMATED.
- 0.0H&MH & M Hennes & Mauritz AB — Sweden (Persson family controls via dual-class A/B share structure; publicly traded)
- 0.0H MartH Mart Companies, Inc. — American; privately held by the Hanahreum Group (founder Il Yeon Kwon), HQ Lyndhurst, New Jersey
- 0.0HollisterAbercrombie & Fitch Co. — United States
- 5.0Holt RenfrewWittington Investments Ltd. — Canadian, Weston family's private holding company -- a separate Weston vehicle from George Weston Limited/Loblaw; retained Holt Renfrew when the family sold the rest of Selfridges Group (UK/Europe) to Central Group/Signa in 2022.
- 0.0Home DepotThe Home Depot, Inc. — American
- 5.0Home HardwareEh+Home Hardware Stores Limited — Canadian
- 5.0Homes Alive PetsHomes Alive Pets Ltd. — Canadian — Ropp family business, with an undisclosed 2023 equity investment from Quebec's Groupe Legault
- 1.0HomeSenseTJX Companies, Inc. — United States (widely held public company, no controlling family)
- 0.0Hot TopicBluestar Alliance LLC (Hot Topic) — United States
- 5.0House of KnivesHouse of Knives — Privately held, 100% Canadian-owned (company's own stated claim, corroborated across multiple listings)
- 4.5HuskyCenovus Energy Inc. — Canadian, widely-held public company (TSX/NYSE: CVE); no controlling shareholder documented
- 3.0IDAMcKesson Canada (McKesson Corporation) — American
- 5.0IGAEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 1.0IHOPDine Brands Global, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NYSE: DIN), no majority owner — widely held by institutional investors
- 0.5IKEAIngka Holding B.V. (IKEA) — Dutch foundation-owned (Stichting INGKA Foundation); Swedish-founded brand
- 3.0IndochinoIndochino (Dayang Group-backed) — Canadian founder-led, with a named Chinese manufacturing investor (Dayang Group) on the board
- 4.0International ClothiersInternational Clothiers — Canadian (Isaac Benitah family, Toronto; privately held)
- 5.0Irving OilIrving Oil Limited (Irving family) — Canadian, wholly owned by the Arthur Irving Family Trust; confirmed as remaining privately held as of January 2025 after considering a sale
- 5.0Jack Astor'sSIR Corp. (Service Inspired Restaurants) — Canadian
- 0.0Jack & JonesBestseller A/S — Denmark (Holch Povlsen family, privately held)
- 5.0Java MooseJava Moose — Canadian, privately owned by co-founder Glen McLean (co-founder Randy Pedersen passed away in 2023)
- 0.0JD SportsJD Sports Fashion plc — United Kingdom
- 4.5Jean CoutuMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 1.0Jimmy John'sArby's Restaurant Group, Inc. — US (owned by Inspire Brands, controlled by Roark Capital private equity)
- 5.0Jimmy the GreekJimmy the Greek — Canadian — Antonopoulos family, now third-generation, private
- 5.0JOEY RestaurantsJoey Tomato's (Canada) Inc. (Fuller family) — Privately held, family-owned (Fuller family — Jeff Fuller, son of Earls co-founder Bus Fuller), Vancouver
- 1.0JollibeeJollibee Foods Corporation — Philippines — publicly traded (PSE: JFC), Tan family holding companies + Tan family hold 54.86% per most recent public ownership report
- 1.0JourneysGenesco Inc. — United States
- 2.0JYSKJYSK A/S — Danish, wholly owned by the Lars Larsen family via Lars Larsen Group
- 0.0Kate Spade New YorkTapestry, Inc. — United States
- 5.0Kawartha DairyCrowe family — Canadian
- 5.0Kekuli CaféKekuli Café — Canada (Indigenous-owned, privately held by founders Sharon Bond and Darren Hogg)
- 5.0KelseysRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 5.0Kent Building SuppliesJ.D. Irving, Limited (Irving family) — Canadian
- 1.0KFCYum! Brands, Inc. — American
- 0.0Kiehl'sKiehl's LLC — US-founded (New York City, 1851, Morse family), acquired by L'Oreal (France) in 2000
- 4.5Kinton RamenFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 4.0Kit and AceUnity Brands Inc. — Canadian, co-owned by retail veterans Joe Mimran (also founded Club Monaco and Joe Fresh), David Lui, and Frank Rocchetti
- 5.0KMS ToolsKMS Tools & Equipment — Canadian, 100% owned by founder Stan Pridham
- 2.0KnixEssity AB — Canadian founder-led, majority-owned by Essity AB (Sweden) since 2022
- 1.0Krispy KremeKrispy Kreme, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NASDAQ: DNUT); largest shareholder is JAB Holding Company (Luxembourg-based, Reimann family), ~43% stake
- 4.5La Belle ProvinceMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0La Bottega NicastroNicastro Family / La Bottega Nicastro — Family-owned since founding (Nicastro family); current La Bottega Nicastro banner opened 1995 by cousins Pat and Rocco Nicastro Jr.
- 0.0LacosteMaus Frères SA — Switzerland
- 0.0LA FitnessFitness International, LLC — American (privately held, Irvine, California)
- 4.5LafleurMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0La Maison SimonsLa Maison Simons Inc. — Canadian, family-owned since 1840
- 0.0La SenzaRegent, L.P. — United States (private equity firm)
- 4.5LauraLaura Canada — Canadian, family-owned (Wolstein family, since 1930)
- 4.0La Vie en RoseLa Vie en Rose Inc. — Canada (privately held by CEO François Roberge since 1996)
- 5.0Lawtons DrugsEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 4.0Le ChâteauYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 5.0Lee Valley ToolsLee Valley Tools Ltd. — Canadian, family-owned (Lee family) since founding
- 0.0LEGOThe LEGO Group — Danish; privately held, 75% owned by Kirkbi A/S (the Kirk Kristiansen family), remaining 25% owned by the LEGO Foundation
- 4.0Leon'sLeon's Furniture Limited — Canadian, publicly traded (TSX: LNF); Leon family holding companies (Midgemar, Jomila, Antomel, Timmyal) control ~64.8% combined — just under the site's 65% Canadian-controlled threshold
- 0.0Levi'sLevi Strauss & Co. — United States (Haas family, descendants of founder Levi Strauss, control majority voting via Class B super-voting shares; publicly traded)
- 5.0Linen ChestLinen Chest — Canadian, family-owned (Liebner family, since 1961)
- 1.0Little BurgundyGenesco Inc. — United States
- 1.0Little Caesar's PizzaLittle Caesars Enterprises, Inc. (Ilitch Holdings) — American
- 0.0L.L.BeanL.L.Bean, Inc. — United States (privately held by the Gorman family, descendants of founder Leon Leonwood Bean)
- 5.0LoblawsLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0L'OccitaneL'Occitane International S.A. — French heritage brand (founded Provence, 1976); majority-controlled by Austrian businessman Reinold Geiger (~72%+), taken fully private and delisted from the Hong Kong Stock Exchange Sept 2024 with Blackstone/Goldman Sachs debt financing
- 0.0LoftKnitWell Group (Sycamore Partners) — United States (Sycamore Partners portfolio company; private-equity owned)
- 5.0London DrugsH.Y. Louie Co. Limited (Louie family) — Canadian
- 5.0Longo'sEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 5.0Loose Moose Tap & GrillSIR Corp. (Service Inspired Restaurants) — Canadian
- 0.0Louis VuittonLVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SE — France
- 0.0LovisaLovisa Holdings Limited — Australia — ASX-listed; chairman Brett Blundy's BB Retail Capital is the largest shareholder. Founded in Sydney in 2010; 900+ stores in 45+ countries.
- 2.0LowesSycamore Partners (operating as RONA inc.) — American (PE firm)
- 1.5lululemonlululemon athletica inc. — Canadian-founded and Vancouver-HQ'd (global HQ, majority of corporate employees) -- strong Operational Footprint -- but real voting control is overwhelmingly held by US/global institutional capital. Founder Chip Wilson (~8.6-8.7%, SEC-confirmed) is the only identifiable Canadian voting bloc.
- 2.0LushLush Cosmetics — UK-founded and majority owned by co-founders Mark & Mo Constantine and fellow founders (Poole, England); ~10% employee-owned
- 0.0MAC CosmeticsMAC Cosmetics — Toronto-founded (1984), wholly owned subsidiary of The Estee Lauder Companies (US) since 1998
- 5.0MacEwen PetroleumMacEwen Petroleum Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (MacEwen family) since founding
- 1.5MackageAPP Group (InterLuxe Holdings / Lee Equity Partners) — Canadian-founded, majority-owned by Lee Equity Partners/InterLuxe Holdings (US) since 2017
- 4.5Mac's Convenience StoresAlimentation Couche-Tard Inc. — Canadian, founded by Alain Bouchard; the four founders' special supervoting shares expired in December 2021 (sunset clause), converting the company to a single, widely-held share class. The founders remain the largest single block at roughly 23% of equity.
- 0.0MajeSMCP Group — France/China
- 4.5Manchu WokMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0Mappins Fine JewellersSignet Jewelers Limited — United States (Bermuda-incorporated)
- 4.5Marble Slab CreameryMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0Marc CainMarc Cain GmbH — Germany
- 5.0Mark'sEh+Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited — Canadian
- 1.0MarshallsTJX Companies, Inc. — United States (widely held public company, no controlling family)
- 5.0Mary Brown's ChickenMBI Brands — Canadian
- 0.0Massimo DuttiIndustria de Diseño Textil, S.A. (Inditex) — Spain
- 0.0MauricesOpCapita LLP — United Kingdom (OpCapita LLP, London-based private equity, majority owner since 2019; Ascena Retail Group -- itself US -- retains a ~49.6% minority stake)
- 0.0Max&Co.Max Mara Fashion Group S.r.l. — Italy
- 5.0MaxiLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0MaxMaraMax Mara Fashion Group S.r.l. — Italy
- 1.0McDonaldsMcDonald's Corporation — American
- 4.5Melanie LyneLaura Canada — Canadian, family-owned (Wolstein family, since 1930)
- 4.0Metalsmiths SterlingMetalsmiths Sterling — Canadian — privately held; founded in 1998 by two brothers (GIA-trained gemologists). The company says it is "proudly Canadian", and its corporate address is listed in Toronto. Founders' names are not publicly disclosed.
- 4.5MetroMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0Michael HillMichael Hill International Limited — Australia / New Zealand — ASX/NZX-listed, headquartered in Brisbane; founded in New Zealand in 1979 by the Hill family
- 0.0Michael KorsCapri Holdings Limited — United States
- 0.0MichaelsThe Michaels Companies, Inc. — American; taken private by Apollo Global Management (a US private equity firm) in a $5 billion deal completed in 2021
- 4.5MikesMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5MilestonesFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 2.5M&M Food MarketParkland Corporation — Canadian HQ (Calgary) retained per deal terms, but wholly owned by U.S. parent Sunoco LP since the acquisition completed October 31, 2025
- 5.0MobiliaMobilia Inc. — Family-owned since founding, Quebec
- 5.0Modo YogaModo Yoga International Inc. — Canadian-owned (Toronto franchisor co-founded by Jessica Robertson and Ted Grand)
- 5.0MondouGroupe Legault (Legault Group) — Canadian — Quebec family-owned (Legault family since 1983)
- 5.0MontanasRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 0.5MooresTailored Brands, Inc. — United States (controlled by investment funds managed by Silver Point Capital, L.P., Greenwich, CT; filed for Nasdaq listing as MENW in 2026)
- 3.5Moose KnucklesMoose Knuckles Canada (Cathay Capital-backed) — Canadian founder-led, with a real foreign PE stake (Cathay Capital)
- 0.0Motherhood MaternityMarquee Brands / Hatch Collective — United States (Marquee Brands, New York, owns the IP; operations run by Hatch Collective, a newly formed US entity, since 2024)
- 4.0Mountain Equipment CompanyMountain Equipment Company Ltd. — Canadian investor-controlled since May 2025 (led by Tim Gu); formerly wholly US PE-owned (Kingswood Capital Management, 2020-2025), which retains an undisclosed minority stake
- 0.0Mountain WarehouseMountain Warehouse Limited — United Kingdom
- 2.5Movati AthleticMovati Athletic Group (Norwest Equity Partners) — American-controlled (Minneapolis-based Norwest Equity Partners, via a 2014 buyout - still a current NEP holding); Canadian-founded and Canadian-run
- 5.0Moxie'sMoxie's Grill & Bar — Canadian (Vancouver) — owned by Northland Properties Corporation (Gaglardi family), which also owns the Canadian Denny's master franchise
- 4.5Mr. SubMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5MTY Food GroupMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5Mucho BurritoMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0NaturalizerCaleres, Inc. — American, publicly traded (NYSE: CAL), widely-held with no controlling shareholder
- 5.0Nature's Fare MarketsPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 5.0Nautilus PlusNautilus Plus Inc. — Canadian-owned (management group with Fondaction and CSN, since Oct 2021)
- 5.0Needs ConvenienceEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 5.0Nesters MarketPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 0.0New BalanceNew Balance Athletics, Inc. — United States
- 5.0New York FriesRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 0.0NikeNike, Inc. — American, publicly traded (NYSE: NKE); the Knight family (Phil Knight and son Travis) controls ~97% of Class A shares, which elect 9 of 12 directors, via a dual-class structure
- 5.0No FrillsLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0NordstromNordstrom, Inc. — United States/Mexico -- Nordstrom family (50.1%) and El Puerto de Liverpool S.A.B. de C.V. (49.9%, Mexico); taken private May 2025
- 4.0Northern / NorthMartThe North West Company Inc. — Canada (TSX-listed, no controlling shareholder; a variable-voting-share structure preserves Canadian control per the Canada Transportation Act, adopted due to its airline subsidiary)
- 4.0Northern ReflectionsPutman Investments — Canadian (Doug Putman, Ancaster, ON; privately held)
- 3.0OAK + FORTOak and Fort Corp. — Canadian founder-led (Kang/Thiagarajah); filed for CCAA creditor protection June 2025
- 0.0Old NavyGap Inc. — United States
- 5.0Old Spaghetti FactoryThe Old Spaghetti Factory — Canadian — The Old Spaghetti Factory Canada Ltd., a genuinely separate, 100%-Canadian-owned company from the unrelated US OSF International (no shared ownership, only an informal decades-old family understanding)
- 4.5On the RunSuncor Energy Inc. — Canadian; became an independent, widely-held public company after Sun Oil (US) and the Ontario government both divested their stakes by 1995. No controlling shareholder today.
- 2.0Orangetheory FitnessPurpose Brands — American (formed April 2024 by the merger of Self Esteem Brands and Orangetheory Fitness)
- 5.0Original Joe'sRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 5.0Osmow's ShawarmaOsmow family — Canadian
- 0.0Outback SteakhouseBloomin' Brands, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NASDAQ: BLMN); Canadian Outback footprint has shrunk to just 2 locations (both Niagara Falls, ON) after a 2009 mass Ontario closure
- 5.0Oxygen Yoga & FitnessOxygen Yoga & Fitness Inc. — Canadian-owned (founder-led franchisor; CEO Jennifer Hamilton)
- 5.0Panago PizzaPanago Pizza Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0Panda ExpressPanda Restaurant Group, Inc. — US — Cherng family, 100% private via the Cherng Family Trust, no outside shareholders, never franchised
- 0.5Panera BreadPanera Bread (JAB Holding Company) — US — owned by JAB Holding Company (Luxembourg-based, Reimann family) since 2017, taken private from NASDAQ in a $7.5B deal
- 1.5Papa John'sPapa John's International, Inc. — American, publicly traded (Nasdaq: PZZA), widely-held with no controlling shareholder
- 5.0Paris JewellersParis Jewellers — Canadian — family-owned and run by sisters Chau Lui and Trang Wong. Their parents, Vietnamese immigrants, founded it in 1986/87 as a small repair shop in St. Albert, AB. Edmonton HQ, about 25 stores across 4 provinces.
- 5.0Patrick MorinHome Hardware Stores Limited — Canadian
- 4.5Paulmac's PetsPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 5.0Peavey Mart2707162 Alberta Ltd. (operating as Peavey Mart) — Canadian -- the original Peavey Industries LP closed all stores in Feb 2025; the Peavey Mart name/IP was acquired by a new Alberta-based private investor group (2707162 Alberta Ltd.) which relaunched a small number of stores starting Dec 2025
- 4.0PenningtonsReitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 0.0Peoples JewellersSignet Jewelers Limited — United States (Bermuda-incorporated)
- 5.0Pete's FrootiqueEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 2.0Petland CanadaPetland, Inc. — US brand owner (Chillicothe, Ohio; founded by Ed Kunzelman) — but Petland Canada itself is an independently owned Canadian master franchise, run by the Brissette family (Winnipeg) since 1978
- 5.0Pet PlanetPet Planet (Resilient Management Corp.) — Canadian — Calgary-based, owned by Resilient Management Corp. since 2024
- 4.5Petro-CanadaSuncor Energy Inc. — Canadian; became an independent, widely-held public company after Sun Oil (US) and the Ontario government both divested their stakes by 1995. No controlling shareholder today.
- 0.0PetSmartPetSmart LLC — US-headquartered; owned by BC Partners/Apollo consortium, with a minority CDPQ co-investment
- 4.5Pet ValuPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 1.0P.F. Chang'sPF Chang's China Bistro, Inc. — US — owned by TriArtisan Capital Advisors and Paulson & Co. (private equity) since 2019, previously Centerbridge Partners (2012-2019)
- 5.0PharmaChoiceMember-owned cooperative — Canadian
- 5.0PharmaprixLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 5.0PharmasaveNo single parent - member-owned cooperative — Canadian
- 5.0Philthy PhillysPhilthy Phillys — Canadian — founder-led (Danny Kotsopoulos), private
- 1.5Pioneer EnergyParkland Corporation — Canadian HQ (Calgary) retained per deal terms, but wholly owned by U.S. parent Sunoco LP since the acquisition completed October 31, 2025
- 4.5Pita PitFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Pizza 73Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp. / Pizza Pizza Limited — Canadian
- 4.5Pizza DelightMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 1.0Pizza HutYum! Brands, Inc. — American
- 5.0Pizza NovaPizza Nova Take Out Ltd. — Canadian, family-owned (Primucci family) since founding
- 4.5Pizza PizzaPizza Pizza Limited + Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp. — Canadian
- 5.0PizzavillePizzaville Inc. — Canadian, 100% Canadian-owned and operated; under the Contardi family's ownership since 1979
- 0.5Planet FitnessPlanet Fitness, Inc. — American (NYSE: PLNT, Hampton, New Hampshire)
- 3.0PopeyesRestaurant Brands International Inc. — Canadian HQ, foreign-controlled
- 5.0Poulet RougePoulet Rouge — Canadian (Québec) — founder-led, private, self-owned
- 0.0PradaPrada S.p.A. — Italy (Prada and Bertelli families control majority voting via holding company; listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange)
- 5.0PriceSmart FoodsPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 5.0Princess AutoTallman family — Canadian
- 5.0ProvigoLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 3.0ProximMcKesson Canada (McKesson Corporation) — American
- 4.0PSEUDIOReitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 5.0QE HomeQE Home | Quilts Etc. — Family-owned since founding by Howard and Jixin, Vancouver, BC
- 5.0QuarksThe Quark Group — Canadian, family-owned (Quark family) since 1977
- 4.5QuesadaFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Quickie Convenience StoresMacEwen Petroleum Inc. — Canadian, family-owned (MacEwen family) since founding
- 1.0QuiznosQCE Holding LLC (Quiznos) — US — owned by High Bluff Capital Partners (San Diego private equity) via REGO Restaurant Group, since 2018 (following a 2014 Chapter 11 bankruptcy under prior owner Avenue Capital)
- 0.0Ralph LaurenRalph Lauren Corporation — United States (Lauren family controls ~86% of voting power via 10-vote Class B shares)
- 0.0Red LobsterRed Lobster Hospitality LLC (Fortress Investment Group) — US, emerged from 2024 Chapter 11 bankruptcy under a lender group led by Fortress Investment Group (US asset manager); all 27 Canadian locations (ON/AB/MB/SK) remain open, operated directly as Red Lobster Canada, Inc.
- 5.0Red River Co-opRed River Co-operative Ltd. — Canadian, member-owned cooperative; part-owner of Federated Co-operatives Limited (FCL)
- 0.0Red RobinRed Robin Gourmet Burgers, Inc. — US, publicly traded (NASDAQ: RRGB); the sole Canadian franchisee (all 11 BC locations) was itself acquired in Aug 2025 by Salt Creek Capital, a US (Bay Area) private equity firm — foreign at both the brand and operating-franchisee level
- 5.0RedsSIR Corp. (Service Inspired Restaurants) — Canadian
- 5.0Reesor's JewelleryReesor's Jewellery — Canadian — Brandon, Manitoba independent since 1882 (Reesor's Jewellery (1978) Ltd.); owned by the Duffield family since 1958, with daughter Judy McIntosh as co-owner in the Manitoba Historical Society profile
- 0.0ReformationReformation — United States
- 4.0ReitmansReitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 1.5Réno-DépôtSycamore Partners (operating as RONA inc.) — American (PE firm)
- 5.0Ren's PetsGroupe Legault (Legault Group) — Canadian — Quebec family-owned (Legault family since 1983)
- 3.0Revelstoke Home CentreSycamore Partners (operating as RONA inc.) — American (PE firm)
- 5.0RexallBirch Hill Equity Partners — Canadian (PE firm)
- 4.5Richelieu HardwareRichelieu Hardware Ltd. — Canadian, widely-held public company (TSX: RCH); no controlling shareholder or family stake documented
- 4.0Ricki'sPutman Investments — Canadian (Doug Putman, Ancaster, ON; privately held)
- 5.0Ricky's All Day GrillFDF Restaurant Brandz (Di Benedetto family) — Privately held, founder-led (Frank Di Benedetto, formerly Frankie's Family Restaurants Ltd.), BC; also owns Famoso Pizzeria, Humpty's, and the Canadian master franchise for Fatburger
- 5.0Robin's DonutsRobin's Donuts — Canadian — owned by Chairman's Brand Corporation (also owns Coffee Time, 241 Pizza) since 2006, 100% Canadian, private
- 5.0Rocky Mountain Soap CompanyRocky Mountain Soap Co. — Canadian-founded and still owner-operated (Karina Birch & Cam Baty)
- 0.0Rodd & GunnUntouched World Group (Rodd & Gunn) — New Zealand
- 2.0RONASycamore Partners (operating as RONA inc.) — American (PE firm)
- 1.5RootsRoots Corporation — Canadian-founded, foreign PE-controlled (Searchlight Capital Partners, US) — pending further acquisition by Marquee Brands (US)
- 4.0RossyRossy Inc. — Canada (family-owned by the Rossy family since 1949; unrelated to Dollarama despite the shared family name and common ancestor)
- 4.0RudsakRUDSAK Inc. — Canadian, founder-led (Evik Asatoorian)
- 4.0RW & Co.Reitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 5.0Safeway (Canada)Empire Company Limited — Canadian
- 3.0Saje Natural WellnessSaje Wellness Ltd. — Vancouver-founded (LeBlanc family, 1992); controlling interest passed to L Catterton (US private equity, Greenwich, CT) around 2020 -- founders retain minority shares and board seats
- 0.0Sally BeautySally Beauty Holdings, Inc. — Widely-held US public company (NYSE: SBH), spun off from Alberto-Culver in 2006, no Canadian ownership stake
- 0.0SandroSMCP Group — France/China
- 5.0Sangster's Health CentreSangster's Health Centres — Saskatchewan-founded (1971, Sangster family); after stints under Planet Organic Health Corp (2004-2010) and EastWest Bioscience (2018-?), founder's son Darryl Sangster has reacquired the company a second time and is currently relaunching it -- individual franchise locations continue operating across Western Canada during the transition
- 5.0Saskatoon Co-opSaskatoon Co-operative Association Limited — Canadian, member-owned cooperative; part-owner of Federated Co-operatives Limited (FCL)
- 5.0Save-On-FoodsPattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 5.0Savoy's JewellersSavoy's Jewellers — Canadian — family-owned by the Rosset family (three generations) since 1952; two stores in Sault Ste. Marie
- 5.0Scaddabush Italian Kitchen & BarSIR Corp. (Service Inspired Restaurants) — Canadian
- 0.0Seafood CitySeafood City Supermarket — U.S.-founded and headquartered (Pomona, California), privately owned by the Go family; expanded into Canada beginning 2017
- 4.5Second CupFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 0.0SephoraSephora — French-founded (1970), wholly owned subsidiary of LVMH since 1997
- 1.0Shake ShackShake Shack Inc. — US, publicly traded (NYSE: SHAK); founder Danny Meyer remains Chairman but no longer holds a voting majority — widely held by institutional and public shareholders
- 1.5ShellShell Canada Limited (Shell plc) — British; wholly owned subsidiary of Shell plc since a 2007 buyout of minority shareholders
- 4.5Shoeless Joe'sFoodtastic Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Shopper's Drug MartLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 4.0SirensYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 0.0Skechers3G Capital — Brazil/Global
- 4.5Sleep Country CanadaSleep Country Canada Holdings Inc. — Canadian, publicly traded (TSX: ZZZ), widely held, no known foreign controlling shareholder
- 4.0Smart SetReitmans (Canada) Limited — Canadian, Reitman family-controlled
- 5.0Smitty's RestaurantSmitty's Restaurants — Canadian — owned by Equicapita Investment Corp (Calgary-based Canadian private equity) since 2018
- 1.0Snap FitnessLift Brands, Inc. — American (privately held, Minnesota)
- 5.0SobeysEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 5.0SoftMocSoftMoc Inc. — Canadian, privately held; founded by Bert Krista in 1990, with the Krista family still in leadership (Robert Krista, VP of Inventory Management). One secondary source claims 'The Quark Group' as parent, but this is unverified and likely conflates with the unrelated, separately Quark-family-owned 'Quarks'/'Urban Trail' brands already in this base -- going with the family-ownership characterization instead.
- 5.0Sole to SoulSole to Soul Footwear Inc. — Canadian, privately owned by founder Abdullah Chybli
- 5.0Source for SportsSource for Sports Ltd. — Canadian; national buying group (Sports Distributors of Canada) whose 200+ member stores are independently owned and operated by local Canadian retailers
- 4.5South St. Burger Co.MTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Spence DiamondsTriWest Capital Partners (Spence Diamonds) — Canadian — majority owned since July 2025 by TriWest Capital Partners (Calgary private equity) alongside management (CEO Callum Beveridge). Previous UK owner Lion Capital and Ivest no longer hold any stake.
- 5.0Spicer Cole Fine JewellersSpicer Cole Fine Jewellers — Canadian — locally owned New Brunswick independent (owners Gary Spicer, Stephen Cole and Cameron Gillies); stores in Fredericton and Saint John
- 5.0SportChekEh+Canadian Tire Corporation, Limited — Canadian
- 5.0Sports ExpertsCanadian Tire Corporation, Limited — Canadian
- 0.5StarbucksStarbucks Corporation — American
- 0.0Steve MaddenSteven Madden, Ltd. — American, publicly traded (Nasdaq: SHOO), widely-held; founder Steve Madden holds a meaningful but non-controlling stake
- 5.0St-HubertRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 4.0StitchesYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 4.5St Louis Bar & GrillMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0StokesStokes Inc. — Privately held, family-owned Canadian business since 1935 (Montreal)
- 2.0STRONG PilatesSTRONG Pilates — Australian (Melbourne-founded franchisor)
- 5.0StructubeStructube — Privately held, family-owned Canadian business since 1974 (Laval, QC)
- 1.0SubwaySubway IP LLC (Roark Capital) — American
- 5.0Sunset GrillSunset Grill Restaurants Ltd. (Christou family) — Privately held, founder-led (Angelo Christou), "100% Canadian-owned and operated" per the company; founded in Toronto's Beaches neighbourhood
- 4.5Super CMetro Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Superstore (Real Canadian Superstore)Loblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 5.0Suzy ShierYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 5.0Swiss ChaletRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 5.0Symposium CafeSymposium Cafe Inc. (Argo family) — Privately held, family-owned (Bill and Terry Argo), founded in London, ON
- 1.0Taco BellYum! Brands, Inc. — American
- 1.0Taco del MarTaco del Mar Franchising Corp — US — owned by High Bluff Capital Partners (San Diego private equity) via REGO Restaurant Group, since 2018 (same ultimate owner as Quiznos)
- 4.5TacoTimeMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Tail BlazersTailblazers Inc. (1050693 Alberta Ltd.) — Canadian — Calgary franchisor founded by Tamara and Brent Hauberg
- 5.0Tap & BarrelTap & Barrel Group (Daniel Hospitality Group) — Privately held, founder-led (Daniel Frankel), Vancouver; all locations company-owned, not franchised
- 4.5Thai ExpressMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 1.5The Body ShopThe Body Shop International Limited — British-founded global brand (Brighton, 1976), global IP/brand now owned by Aurea Group (UK) since Sept 2024 -- but The Body Shop Canada itself is an independently owned and operated Canadian master franchise, acquired by Serruya Private Equity (Toronto/Markham family firm behind Yogen Fruz and CoolBrands) in 2025
- 4.0The BrickLeon's Furniture Limited — Canadian, publicly traded (TSX: LNF); Leon family holding companies (Midgemar, Jomila, Antomel, Timmyal) control ~64.8% combined — just under the site's 65% Canadian-controlled threshold
- 0.0The Children's PlaceThe Children's Place, Inc. — United States (Nasdaq-listed; majority stake, ~61%, held by Mithaq Capital SPC, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)
- 0.0The GapGap Inc. — United States
- 5.0The KegFairfax Financial Holdings — Canadian
- 2.5The Medicine ShoppeMcKesson Canada (McKesson Corporation) — American
- 0.0The North FaceVF Corporation — United States
- 5.0The Pickle BarrelRecipe Unlimited Corporation (Fairfax Financial Holdings) — Canadian
- 0.0The Shoe CompanyDesigner Brands Inc. — American, publicly traded (NYSE: DBI); Schottenstein-affiliated entities hold ~30% of shares but 66% of combined voting power via dual-class (8-vote) Class B shares
- 5.0Thrifty FoodsEmpire Company Limited — Canadian
- 0.0Tiffany & Co.LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SE — France
- 4.0TilleyGibraltar & Company — Canadian PE-owned (Toronto) since 2018
- 5.0TIMBER MARTTIMBER MART Group — Canadian; the largest national member-owned buying group in Canada for independent building-material and hardware retailers (no single corporate HQ)
- 3.0Tim HortonsRestaurant Brands International Inc. — Canadian HQ, foreign-controlled
- 4.0Tip TopGrafton-Fraser Inc. (Stern Partners) — Canadian (acquired by Stern Partners Inc., Toronto private equity firm controlled by Ronald N. Stern, November 2023)
- 4.5TisolPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 0.0Tommy BahamaOxford Industries, Inc. — United States
- 5.0Topper's PizzaTopper's Pizza — Canadian, family-owned (Toppazzini family) since founding
- 0.0TorridTorrid Holdings Inc. — United States
- 0.0Tory BurchTory Burch LLC — United States
- 4.5Total PetPet Valu Holdings Ltd. — Canadian — widely held on the TSX; largest holders are Canadian asset managers (Roark Capital fully exited in 2025)
- 4.0TristanTristan — Canadian, family-owned (Fortin/Deslauriers family, since 1973)
- 5.0T&T SupermarketLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0TumiSamsonite International S.A. — Hong Kong
- 5.0Turkstra LumberTurkstra Lumber Co. Limited — Canadian, family-owned (Turkstra family, now 3rd generation) since founding
- 1.5UltramarParkland Corporation — Canadian HQ (Calgary) retained per deal terms, but wholly owned by U.S. parent Sunoco LP since the acquisition completed October 31, 2025
- 2.5UniprixMcKesson Canada (McKesson Corporation) — American
- 0.0UNIQLOFast Retailing Co., Ltd. — Japan (Tadashi Yanai and family hold a large voting stake; publicly traded)
- 5.0Urban BarnUrban Barn Ltd. — Privately held, 100% Canadian-owned
- 5.0Urban FarePattison Food Group (Jim Pattison Group) — Canadian
- 0.0Urban OutfittersURBN Inc. — United States
- 4.0Urban PlanetYM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 5.0Urban TrailThe Quark Group — Canadian, family-owned (Quark family) since 1977
- 4.5ValentineMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 5.0Value Drug MartValue Drug Mart Associates Ltd. — Canada (member/store-owner cooperative -- individual store owners are shareholders of the parent, not a franchise)
- 0.5Value VillageSavers Value Village, Inc. — American; publicly traded (NYSE: SVV) but majority-controlled (about 63% after an August 2026 secondary sale, down from ~76%) by US private equity firm Ares Management, a 'controlled company' under NYSE governance standards
- 5.0Valu-martLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 5.0Vera's Burger ShackVera's Burger Shack (Tritt/Cantor) — Privately held; started as a beach concession in 1977, bought and rebuilt by Gerald Tritt (2000) and Noah Cantor (2001), West Vancouver
- 0.0Victoria's Secret & PINKVictoria's Secret & Co. — United States
- 0.0Wal-MartWalmart Inc. — American
- 0.0WayfairWayfair Inc. — US-based (Massachusetts), NYSE-listed
- 0.0Weekend Max MaraMax Mara Fashion Group S.r.l. — Italy
- 2.0WendysThe Wendy's Company — American
- 5.0West 49YM Inc. — Canadian, privately owned (Michael Gold)
- 5.0Westport Bean CompanyWestport Bean Company — Canada (independent, single-location coffee shop, Sault Ste. Marie)
- 5.0White SpotWhite Spot Ltd. — Canadian (BC) — owned by Shato Holdings Limited (Toigo family) since 1982
- 0.0Whole Foods MarketWhole Foods Market, Inc. — American; wholly owned subsidiary of Amazon.com, Inc. since 2017
- 4.5Wild WingMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 4.5Wimpy's DinerMTY Food Group Inc. — Canadian
- 2.0WingstopWingstop Inc. — US, publicly traded (NASDAQ: WING); Canadian master franchise rights held by JPK Capital, a Canadian (Joe Poulin) single-family office
- 1.0WinnersTJX Companies, Inc. — United States (widely held public company, no controlling family)
- 1.0World GymWorld Gym International — Taiwanese-owned (World Gym Taiwan, TWSE: 2762, acquired World Gym International Oct 2024); US-founded brand
- 0.0YetiYETI Holdings, Inc. — United States
- 5.0Yogen FrüzYogen Fruz Canada Inc. — Canada (privately held by the Serruya family via International Franchise Corp.)
- 5.0Your Independent GrocerLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0Yves RocherYves Rocher — French family-owned (Groupe Rocher, Rennes/La Gacilly), founded 1965 by Yves Rocher, still led by the Rocher family (Bris Rocher)
- 4.5YYOGAYYOGA (Terry McBride) — Canadian-owned (founder Terry McBride; Canadian investors)
- 0.0ZaraIndustria de Diseño Textil, S.A. (Inditex) — Spain
- 5.0ZehrsLoblaw Companies Limited (George Weston Limited) — Canadian
- 0.0ZumiezZumiez Inc. — United States